Onion Rings

A couple of nights ago I was watching one of those “road food” programs on the Food Network–you know, the ones where they visit roadside diners and local favorites across the country and sample the local delicious, unhealthy food?  One of the places they visited served their special sandwiches covered with an enormous mound of light, crisp onion rings.  I’ve been craving onion rings ever since.  Not the frozen, heavily breaded ones; the kind that are made from huge rings of sweet onions, lightly floured and seasoned, so sweet they melt in your mouth.  The problem: I have no idea where to find such onion rings in Buffalo.  Can any of my local readers help?  Where can I find the best onion rings in the greater Buffalo metro area?

8 thoughts on “Onion Rings”

  1. Actually, Vidalia onions don’t work well cooked. Heat brings out the sweetness in ordinary onions, but Vidalias are naturally sweet, with no sulfur content, which is what makes them taste “hot”. Frying Vidalia onions breaks down the sugar, and makes them bland.

  2. Sandi,

    The problem with cooking fried onion rings at home is that they smell up the whole house. I’d rather leave it to the professionals.

  3. Jim,

    I don’t know about where to buy them in Buffalo, but why not purchase some Vidalia Onions and experiment with your own batters at home.

  4. Stop me now.

    My neighbor, Doug, raved about the onion ring/french fry basket he enjoyed Saturday at Cheeseburger Cheeseburger, located next to Panera Bread, in one of Niagara Falls Boulevard’s largest parking lots. Lots of good eatin’ there – make sure to check out Bill Rapaport’s Buffalo Restaurant Guide for more info. His wife, Martha, loved her burger with guacamole and Swiss. Apparently, they have veggie burgers there. Doug & Martha were wild about the many choices of toppings.

  5. Jim,
    If you do go to Mississippi Mud’s, make sure to stop by Old Man River. They grill a mean bunny dog. (Hint: It’s orange and a vegetable.)

  6. I definitely need to get out more. I’ve never heard of Old Man River or Mississippi Mudd’s, but I Googled them after Jenn mentioned them–they look great! Who knew that Tonawanda had fun places like that? (I didn’t, anyway.) But they’re both closed for the season, and I can’t wait until spring.

    Some other folks have mentioned Ted’s. I’m looking at their menu right now…. Yep, I think that’s the place. I’ll try it and let you know.

  7. Ted’s, I’d say. When I go there I am always conflicted between the rings and the fries. And although I am always intrigued by the idea of getting a burger, I haven’t been able to pull the trigger and not order a hot dog.

    If you are prepared to go a bit outside the Buffalo sphere of influence Tom Wahls, in Avon, NY is a quality Roadfood style experience. They used to have deep-fried green pepper rings that were terrific, but I don’t see them on the menu now. The french-fried mushrooms are still there, though, and excellent onion rings.

  8. Jim, I like to bike up to Old Man River or Mississippi Muds along the River in Tonawanda (near Niawanda and Veteran’s Parks). Not sure where in the city limits you could go, (Louie’s on elmwood has horrible service but great fried foods!) and you should probably call ahead for seasonal hours. We like the sweet potato fries! Surely great spots for whatever greasy spoon savories you crave. 🙂

Leave a Reply

