Greetings from Dubrovnik.

Hey, guys and gals!  I'm currently sitting in the Netcafe Internet Bar in Dubrovnik, Croatia, where I'm attending the 7th Annual Libraries in the Digital Age conference.  

As you'd expect, most of the attendees are Croatian, but there are people here from all over the world.  Europe is well represented, there are a handful of Americans and several Australians (but no Canadians–what's up with that?)  All the presentations are in English, fortunately for me.  That seems to be the language Europeans from different countries use when they get together.  (If you haven't seen it, rent the movie L'Auberge Espagnole.  It's about a bunch of young college students from across Europe sharing an apartment in Barcelona for a year.  Whenever they all get together, they speak English.)

Dubrovnik is a beautiful city, if not very colorful.  It's all white stone, and densely built, with no trees or gardens within the city walls.  I suppose that's why it was able to withstand the 1991-1992 bombing so well.  There was a lot of rebuilding after the war, but now you'd never know there had been a war here.  The city dates back to the 4th century or so, but most of the buildings date from the 17th and 18th cenguries, because the city was largely destroyed in the Great Earthquake of 1667.  I'll post some photos tomorrow.

I have a bad case of jet lag, and slept through most of the presentations today.  My paper is on Wednesday.  I'm thinking of recording my presentation–on Open Access Legal Scholarship and Low Cost Legal Publishing–and podcasting it.  Sounds exciting, huh?

The most important questions: yes, Dubrovnik has excellent food and beer.  I just had a Lasko Temno Pivo, a sweet, dark beer at 5.9% alcohol.  Other beers are stronger, in the Pilsner style, but full-bodied and delicious.  Lots of seafood here, especially squid, and one of the local specialties is black risotto, which gets its color from squid ink.  I haven't tried that yet, but I'll report back later.  Italian pasta is also popular, and pizza is the favorite cheap meal.
Internet access is good here.  There are several Internet cafes where you can bring your laptop or use one of their computers, and there are also several Wi-Fi hotspots around town.

That's all for now.  I'll report on some of the programs tomorrow.

About James G. Milles

Professor of Law, SUNY Buffalo Law School

Posted on May 29, 2006, in Libraries, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Too cool that you’re blogging from Dubrovnik! Very envious of the awesome beer and seafood! Can’t wait to read more. (ps, June Abbas and I are approved for ASIS&T in November! More soon! Going to Austin afterall!) – jenn

  2. I’d love to visit Austin again! The last time I was there was about ten years ago. I wonder if Fonda San Miguel is still the best Mexican restaurant? I might have to go too; after all, I am an ASIS&T member.

Leave a Reply

