V for Vendetta

I just saw V for Vendetta this afternoon, and I loved it. I was hopeful, but cautiously so, going in; I loved the first Matrix movie when I first saw it, tolerated the second, and hated the third so much it made me rethink my appreciation of the first one. (For those who don’t know, V for Vendetta was produced and written by The Wachowski Brothers, who wrote and directed the three Matrix films.) V for Vendetta was not only frightening and disturbing, and ultimately stirring and triumphant; it was surprisingly moving. Sure, Hugo Weaving plays the whole movie in a mask, but Keanu Reaves plays every movie that way. (That’s not quite fair; he was actually pretty good as a scary redneck in The Gift.) Anyway, go see it on the big screen.  At a time when both Justice Ginsburg and former Justice O’Connor are intimating that we are seeing the beginnings of a dictatorship, it’s a must-see.

4 thoughts on “V for Vendetta”

  1. I’ve since seen it and quite liked it. Was compelled to by the comic too (actually, it was in the graphic novel section of my local bookstore). I’ve only just started reading it, but find it interesting.

  2. Thanks for the review, Jim. Like you I was a HUGE fan of the first Matrix movie and was a bit nervous to see this one so I do appreciate the recommendation. I do like Natalie Portman a lot, though.

  3. I bought the comic book at Borders after seeing the movie, and read it over the weekend. The movie cut a number of subsidiary characters and plots, and changed the order of some major events. The ending was very different. (I won’t spoil either the book or the movie by saying any more.) I thought the changes effectively updated the political references from the original (Thatcher’s England) to the movie (Bush’s America). At the same time, leaving the setting in England is probably what made the movie acceptable to the producers.
    What was remarkable to me was how prescient the movie was. The film was made last year, and originally intended for release in November 2005 (Guy Fawkes Day), long before the revelations about warrantless wiretapping.

  4. But the big question is: how did it compare to the comic?
    (I’m real freaked out to discover, btb, tons of comic reviews, character bios, etc. in wikipedia. It’s a *good* thing, I guess, but nonetheless freaky.)

Leave a Reply

